Dragons Roleplaying Forum
Hello! I greet all you guests warmly. Don't be scared, we won't bite! Us roleplayers are very active and have some experience. Our moderators and admins are always eager to help! We often hang out in the chatbox. So go on ahead, and join us today!

Hyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright Dragon10


Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Dragons Roleplaying Forum
Hello! I greet all you guests warmly. Don't be scared, we won't bite! Us roleplayers are very active and have some experience. Our moderators and admins are always eager to help! We often hang out in the chatbox. So go on ahead, and join us today!

Hyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright Dragon10
Dragons Roleplaying Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Log in

I forgot my password

Quick Links

Site Rules

Contact Staff

Celestia: astral@rpgdragons.org Baldirak: baldirak@rpgdragons.org

Latest topics
» FELWORLD
by Grimone Wed Apr 14, 2021 4:45 pm

» Totally Normal Humans (Paradox)
by Discord Sun Apr 04, 2021 11:29 am

» Taking the Reins? (IceWings)
by Gemna Mon Mar 22, 2021 12:49 pm

» My characters
by Zappy Sun Feb 28, 2021 10:31 pm

» Zappy
by Baldirak Sapiens Draco Sun Feb 28, 2021 10:18 pm

» Resentment (Soshi)
by Incus Fri Feb 26, 2021 8:56 pm

» Fish, Fins, and Scales (Poem)
by Bassasail Fri Feb 26, 2021 8:33 pm

» hello???
by Bassasail Fri Feb 26, 2021 8:17 pm

» A Salty Encounter(Open)
by Minnow Sat Feb 06, 2021 9:57 am

» Ashram(solo)
by Richard Fri Feb 05, 2021 7:13 pm

» Eluuna (Finished)
by Baldirak Sapiens Draco Thu Jan 28, 2021 11:49 pm

» Something to Care About
by Abbadon Wed Jan 27, 2021 11:22 am

» Poem, the lost
by Baldirak Sapiens Draco Fri Jan 22, 2021 12:28 am

» New Arrivals (Helia + Attor) [In need of a Guardian]
by Attor Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:09 pm

» Dark Shadows
by Poem Wed Jan 13, 2021 11:01 pm

» Leona's dragon
by Baldirak Sapiens Draco Mon Jan 11, 2021 5:25 pm

» Dealing with Darkness Part 2 (Chogath)
by Chogath Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:06 pm

» The Liber Perpetuity Mortis (Necromancy Lore, still in progress)
by Tenebris Mon Jan 04, 2021 8:49 am

» Account Deletion Request
by Baldirak Sapiens Draco Mon Jan 04, 2021 12:24 am

» A Difference...(Open)
by Poem Tue Dec 22, 2020 11:50 pm

» Harsh Realities (Open to Humans)
by Soshi Mon Dec 21, 2020 1:21 pm

» Island-Call [Wake]
by Phantasmas Thu Dec 10, 2020 9:06 am

» Discord Server?
by Lori Iolar Wed Dec 09, 2020 9:57 am

» Welcome To Chatbox.
by Baldirak Sapiens Draco Mon Dec 07, 2020 9:51 am

» Zyra the Kind
by Baldirak Sapiens Draco Mon Dec 07, 2020 9:38 am

Top posting users this month
Discord
Hyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright Vote_lcapHyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright Voting_barHyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright Vote_rcap 
Grimone
Hyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright Vote_lcapHyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright Voting_barHyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright Vote_rcap 

Who is online?
In total there are 9 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 9 Guests :: 1 Bot

None

Most users ever online was 315 on Mon Nov 04, 2019 1:22 pm
Affiliates

Our Buttons:

Our Affiliates:

Hyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright

Go down

Hyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright Empty Hyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright

Post by Hyruu Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:06 pm

Alright, I had this idea for a while now but I was wondering if people actually would like it. After a discussion with a few people last night I decided to try it anyway and see what would happen. The idea is to talk about a few games that are either classics or interesting games one should have played at least once. If you like the idea I'd appreciate a comment, so I know if people enjoyed the concept of reviews or not. There's no real point to continue if no one enjoyed after all.

So this is the time for Hyruu's first Game Review !

Phoenix Wright

Hyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright Objection

I bet a lot of you have heard of, if not played this series of games. Mostly known for the mythical "Objection !" and the character's rather special air cut, these games feature an original game play and a good dose of laugh. They have been mostly developed on the Nintendo DS, with the exceptions of the first one that was on the GBA (but got a DS redesign) and the last one which is on the newer 3DS.

In this series, the player will incarnate Phoenix Wright, a defense attorney. Your duty as an attorney is to prove your client innocent (which he actually is), despite the usually overwhelming proofs that lie against them. To do so, you only have two weapons : your wits and your "Objection !"

Hyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright PW-Objection01

The game feature a certain number of cases, which get more and more difficult. Each case usually consists of an investigation phase in which you will investigate the crime scene and talk to the witnesses to try and get proofs to defend your client, and a tribunal phase where you will have to prove your client innocent. The investigation phase might be the most annoying, but you definitively need it to understand what's going on. The tribunal phase is extremely captivating as you have to cross-examine the witnesses' testimonies in order to spot and highlight the flaws. Trust me this will give you some challenge !

As for the ambiance of the game ? It's packed with humor, exaggerated stereotypes and totally silly ! Between your medium assistant, the passive juge that has absolutely no authority and the characters as improbable as possible, the game will never cease to surprise you (and make you facepalm). The police officer dressed as a cowboy ? Checked. The prosecutor punctuating her point with a whip ? Checked. The creepy Italian chef who tries to hit on you ? Check. The mafioso family reconverting into bakers to sell cupcakes ? Check. And the list is way way longer. Phoenix Wright boasts a panel of silly characters that will keep you entertained.
As for the cases, be ready for a desperate defense. I found myself sleeping late a lot of times while trying to solve them. During the tribunal phases you'll go from surprise to surprise, with more turns of situation that you could imagine. The game never ceases to have you get disappointed when you find out that perfect argument you had just got countered by another fact. Really, it will keep you on your toes.

Hyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright 99F187PXa1_HJ09_gBN6PMsmgI4

In conclusion, Phoenix Wright is a really interesting game that is more about thinking than action. The graphics are really nice and the musics will keep the tension up during those heated battles with the prosecutors. Coupled with the silly ambiance and the totally eccentric characters, you are guaranteed a lot of hours of fun and challenge.

"Name. State. Profession. Now !" - Miles Edgeworth, after the fifth time asking for it
"I ask for the parrot to testify to the Court !" - Phoenix Wright, this desperate (the parrot did a determinant testimony)
"... and I will pronounce the verdict guilty or not guilty." "No, your role is to hit that hammer of yours when I will tell you to do so and say 'Guilty'" "Oh okay then" - Manfred Von Karma and the Judge, still as strong-willed as ever


How to play it :

Like I said, you will find the four first games on the Nintendo DS. They are, in order, Phoenix Wright : Ace Attorney, Phoenix Wright : Justice for All, Phoenix Wright : Trials and Tribulations and Apollo Justice : Ace Attorney. A compilation of the first three has also been made on the iPhone.
On a computer, you can use an emulator to play them. Desemune is a free and good emulator for that. On an Android phone you can look at the Drastic emulator (which isn't free unless you get the APK).
As for the roms, a quick search will lead you to them easily. A good site you can use is EmuParadise.
You can always PM me if you need more help.

Have fun with these games !

_______________________
Characters : Hyruu, Asher, Loque, Mei, Aakesh, Seyn, Rhune, Nara, Nisha
Hyruu
Hyruu
LightWing Hunter
LightWing Hunter

Male Pisces Rooster
Posts : 1529
Reputation : 28
Age : 28

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum