Dragons Roleplaying Forum
Hello! I greet all you guests warmly. Don't be scared, we won't bite! Us roleplayers are very active and have some experience. Our moderators and admins are always eager to help! We often hang out in the chatbox. So go on ahead, and join us today!

Log in

I forgot my password

Latest topics
» Out for a stroll (Open)
by Destella Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:19 pm

» Festival of masks
by Baldirak Sapiens Draco Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:15 am

» Question for Baldirak
by malaki Sun Jun 17, 2018 8:40 pm

» Perception Contest Submission: Start of Something
by Wake Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:46 am

» Start of Something (Perspective Contest)
by Wake Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:40 am

» Butterfly Effect (open)
by malaki Sun Jun 10, 2018 4:02 pm

» Strawhat // One Piece AU
by Fuentes Sun Jun 10, 2018 1:58 pm

» In War, Even Hatchlings Have A Part To Play (Cyclone and Typhoon)
by Cyclone and Typhoon Thu Jun 07, 2018 4:51 pm

» Random Encounters (Open to All)
by Reality Glitch Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:04 am

» Finding a Tribe (Icewings only)
by Atarijor XVI Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:56 pm

» One-Sentence-Story Game
by Baldirak Sapiens Draco Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:34 pm

» Getting to Know You (Shiera)
by Baldirak Sapiens Draco Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:59 pm

» Paradox, Chaos Reborn
by Astral Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:31 pm

» Witness to a Murder
by Baldirak Sapiens Draco Mon Jun 04, 2018 8:03 pm

» Revelations of a Dark Future
by Aura Thu May 31, 2018 2:30 pm

» A Foreign Danger (Request Invite)
by Mithridae Sun May 27, 2018 2:23 am

» Advisory Training? (Wake)
by Wake Fri May 25, 2018 8:46 pm

» Stumbling over some ruins (Open to all)
by Tormaigh Fri May 25, 2018 8:19 pm

» Attack on Ammos (Humans)
by Aly√§r Iris Iza Draekus Fri May 25, 2018 5:57 pm

» Beseige - Open to All
by NightFlare Fri May 25, 2018 5:34 pm

» Snow and Romance and... danger (Destella)
by Destella Tue May 22, 2018 2:59 pm

» ... But When One Story Ends...
by Karic Sun May 20, 2018 11:47 am

» Ashburn's Knight - Perspective Contest Entry
by Guarnere Sat May 19, 2018 4:58 am

» Rayla's shtuff I guess
by Rayla Fri May 18, 2018 6:20 pm

» A shallow Reef (Open to all)
by Jansi Fri May 18, 2018 1:22 pm

Quick Links


Contact Staff

Celestia: astral@rpgdragons.org

Who is online?
In total there are 9 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 9 Guests :: 1 Bot

None

Most users ever online was 110 on Mon Jan 25, 2016 3:47 pm
Affiliates

Our Buttons:

Our Affiliates:

Hyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright

Go down

Hyruu's Game Review - Phoenix Wright

Post by Hyruu on Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:06 pm

Alright, I had this idea for a while now but I was wondering if people actually would like it. After a discussion with a few people last night I decided to try it anyway and see what would happen. The idea is to talk about a few games that are either classics or interesting games one should have played at least once. If you like the idea I'd appreciate a comment, so I know if people enjoyed the concept of reviews or not. There's no real point to continue if no one enjoyed after all.

So this is the time for Hyruu's first Game Review !

Phoenix Wright


I bet a lot of you have heard of, if not played this series of games. Mostly known for the mythical "Objection !" and the character's rather special air cut, these games feature an original game play and a good dose of laugh. They have been mostly developed on the Nintendo DS, with the exceptions of the first one that was on the GBA (but got a DS redesign) and the last one which is on the newer 3DS.

In this series, the player will incarnate Phoenix Wright, a defense attorney. Your duty as an attorney is to prove your client innocent (which he actually is), despite the usually overwhelming proofs that lie against them. To do so, you only have two weapons : your wits and your "Objection !"


The game feature a certain number of cases, which get more and more difficult. Each case usually consists of an investigation phase in which you will investigate the crime scene and talk to the witnesses to try and get proofs to defend your client, and a tribunal phase where you will have to prove your client innocent. The investigation phase might be the most annoying, but you definitively need it to understand what's going on. The tribunal phase is extremely captivating as you have to cross-examine the witnesses' testimonies in order to spot and highlight the flaws. Trust me this will give you some challenge !

As for the ambiance of the game ? It's packed with humor, exaggerated stereotypes and totally silly ! Between your medium assistant, the passive juge that has absolutely no authority and the characters as improbable as possible, the game will never cease to surprise you (and make you facepalm). The police officer dressed as a cowboy ? Checked. The prosecutor punctuating her point with a whip ? Checked. The creepy Italian chef who tries to hit on you ? Check. The mafioso family reconverting into bakers to sell cupcakes ? Check. And the list is way way longer. Phoenix Wright boasts a panel of silly characters that will keep you entertained.
As for the cases, be ready for a desperate defense. I found myself sleeping late a lot of times while trying to solve them. During the tribunal phases you'll go from surprise to surprise, with more turns of situation that you could imagine. The game never ceases to have you get disappointed when you find out that perfect argument you had just got countered by another fact. Really, it will keep you on your toes.


In conclusion, Phoenix Wright is a really interesting game that is more about thinking than action. The graphics are really nice and the musics will keep the tension up during those heated battles with the prosecutors. Coupled with the silly ambiance and the totally eccentric characters, you are guaranteed a lot of hours of fun and challenge.

"Name. State. Profession. Now !" - Miles Edgeworth, after the fifth time asking for it
"I ask for the parrot to testify to the Court !" - Phoenix Wright, this desperate (the parrot did a determinant testimony)
"... and I will pronounce the verdict guilty or not guilty." "No, your role is to hit that hammer of yours when I will tell you to do so and say 'Guilty'" "Oh okay then" - Manfred Von Karma and the Judge, still as strong-willed as ever


How to play it :

Like I said, you will find the four first games on the Nintendo DS. They are, in order, Phoenix Wright : Ace Attorney, Phoenix Wright : Justice for All, Phoenix Wright : Trials and Tribulations and Apollo Justice : Ace Attorney. A compilation of the first three has also been made on the iPhone.
On a computer, you can use an emulator to play them. Desemune is a free and good emulator for that. On an Android phone you can look at the Drastic emulator (which isn't free unless you get the APK).
As for the roms, a quick search will lead you to them easily. A good site you can use is EmuParadise.
You can always PM me if you need more help.

Have fun with these games !

_______________________
Characters : Hyruu, Asher, Loque, Mei, Aakesh, Seyn, Rhune, Nara, Nisha
avatar
Hyruu
LightWing Hunter
LightWing Hunter

Male Pisces Rooster
Posts : 1529
Reputation : 28
Age : 25

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum